More Ski Resorts I’ve Known – Italy

I normally go to Austria for skiing but I have been lucky enough to visit Italy a few times – and I’m going there again in January – to Sauze d’Oulx near Turin.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/travel/snowandski/italy/sauze-d-oulx/11235561/Ski-Sauze-dOulx-resort-guide.html

Canazei – This was the first Italian ski resort I visited and it was VERY COLD!!  Obviously cold is good on a ski holiday, but there was one early morning when the temperature gauge actually said minus 22 degrees centigrade!  This was the only ski holiday when I got wind burn on my face and came home with big red blotches on my nose & chin.  But it is a lovely resort – very pretty, nestled among the Dolomites.  The Dolomites are spectacular and turn a wonderful pink colour at sunset (I wasn’t normally up at sun rise to see this)!  One of the big attractions for Canazei is that it is part of the Sella Ronda ski circuit.

Check-out the review that I wrote for the RTE Travel site at the time.

http://www.rte.ie/lifestyle/travel/features/2009/0226/140692-canazei/

Courmayer – A stunning resort that sits at the bottom of Mont Blanc in the Aosta Valley.  The food was great and the quality of food in the mountain huts was some of the best I’ve found in ski resorts.  The village is very pretty and is full of Italian tourists wandering around in Armani gear (even the ski instructors wear Armani)!  The funniest thing is that the Armani clad tourists rarely venture onto the slopes – they prefer to sit outside the numerous cafes posing.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/travel/snowandski/italy/courmayeur/

 

Leave a Reply

